my confessions pt. 1…

I am a gamer. I love video games. When I was just a little kid I saved up my allowance for months and months to buy my first Nintendo Entertainment System (henceforth referred to as NES). I was actually only able to pay for half… at $2.00 a week (including all of the extra chores I was doing) it would have taken me far to long to save up enough, so my mom paid for the other half. Thanks Mom!

I still remember vividly the feeling of turning it on for the first time. I still remember the magic that first ride down the flag pole at the end of World 1-1 and feeling like a champ; like I could overcome anything.

I’ve owned every system that Nintendo has made (except the Virtual Boy and the Game Boy Advance). I love Nintendo! I love their games. Perhaps I’ll talk about some of my favorites at some other time, but for now let me get to the real reason for this post.

I’ve played a lot of really great games this past year; Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility, Mario Kart Wii, Smash Bros. Brawl, World of Goo, Legend of Zelda: The Phantom Hourglasss, Professor Layton and the Curious Village, FFCC: My Life as A King… the list could go on. However, last night I played a game that made me smile in a way that I haven’t in a long time. The game is called Retro Game Challenge and it is for the Nintendo DS. The basic gist of it is your DS is haunted by the obsessive personality of some guy that transports you back to the 1980’s where you have to beat a bunch of his gaming challenges before he sends you back to your present time. The games that you play are fantastically charming homages of classic genres; there’s the space shooter, the racing game, the platformer, the RPG, the sequel, etc.

Here’s the thing: not only are all of these games lovingly tongue-in-cheek, but they are also a lot of fun. And once you beat the challenges for the various games, you then unlock the game for free play where you can… um… play the game freely.

I won’t say too much more because this isn’t intended to be a review of the game, more just me sharing something that I like. Here’s an actual review if you want. Needless to say, it’s a lot of fun. There are some great laughs, and some wonderful nostalgic elements that take you back to your childhood. You can ask my wife, after playing it all night I got kinda silly and we played a wicked game of hide and seek.

So, if you have a DS, check it out, ’cause games like these are worth supporting.
Thank you for indulging a bit of my nerd talk.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Frake says:

    I remember playing PC games like Prince of Persia, Keen, and Micro Machines when my dad first got a computer, I can see how fun it would be to play those games again

  2. joshua says:

    i loved this gamewhen i was a kid: castle wolfenstein?i’d play it so much that i’d get motion sick from the jerky motion of the pixelated screen.blech. nauseating and AMAZING!!- josh

Leave a Reply

