scripture: my journey to find illumination in the familiar… part II

We toss scripture around like it’s penny candy. We put it on t-shirts, we put it on billboards, we put it on bumper stickers, we put it on breath mints, we use it to prove whatever “opinion-of-the-month” we subscribe to and try to trump those who disagree with us by flippantly throwing it around (to alter a quote that I heard recently: “to a Christian, every preference is a matter of principle”). When the holy is made common place, the holy is lost.

It is at this point that I really need to look at myself. Have I made the Holy Word of God so commonplace in my life and the lives around me that its power is made impotent? Have I been so blithely tossing scripture about like some oblivious, religious Johnny Appleseed that I’ve failed to give it the deference it is due?

We don’t cheer when scripture is read for the same reason we don’t cheer when we turn on our kitchen tap and water comes out.

This is why I decided to fast from scripture. It needed to become holy again. It needed to become something that I didn’t take for granted, and didn’t feel entitled to. So I laid out some ground rules… well, really only one rule: the Bible could only be read on Mondays.

This fast lasted for about a month and, honestly, it was amazing to me how much (and how quickly) I grew to thirst for scripture as soon as it’s constant availability was taken from me. Every Monday when I would pick it up it was literally (in a very metaphorical way) like water running over the parched landscape of my soul. I had never really experienced anything like it before.

Through this little “experiment” I’ve learned two things:

1. I want what I can’t have.
2. Scripture is holy and to take something holy and make it commonplace through misuse and overuse is not only damaging (for ourselves and the world around us) but also profane.

So, there you go. Take from this what you will, I just felt like sharing. Bye for now.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Definitely agree with you, old friend.I was thinking too about how God chooses the simple things in the world to confound the wise. We like to throw that verse in the face of secular scientists (“young earth or nothing, you bastards”), but we don’t like to look at ourselves through the lens of that verse. Perhaps Scripture becomes profane when we are looking to glean only profound understanding. In the process, we lose sight of the beautiful purity of the Simple.

  2. Andrew Love says:

    I like the appleseed reference

Leave a Reply

