two things i liked from this last sunday…

I lead my church in song and worship every Sunday. Sometimes I find it hard to remember specific highlights because every week kind of bleeds into the next. I didn’t have that problem this week. There were two specific things that stand out for me as I reflect on our last Sunday. I will now share them with you.

1. We are in the middle of a 7 week series on Identity. This last week the hymn “Take My Life and Let It Be” was a very appropriate fit in the set. However, between you and me, I’m not a really big fan of the Tomlin arrangement of it. Don’t get me wrong, I am a big fan of Tomlin, but that one song is a bit of a miss for me… but that’s just me. Anyways, so instead of using his I arranged my own and I wrote a chorus for it that would tie it in very nicely into our series. I still have some feel/groove improvements to make on the verses, but I was quite happy with how the chorus turned out. It’s been running through my head all week, which I think is good. Here is how it went:

At your feet I bow
Giving up myself
To find myself in you
Child, saint, and slave
Held in your embrace
I become myself in you.

See how I tied the idea of identity (and used the last three weeks of topics: child, saint, slave) into the responsive act of bowing down before him? Pretty snazzy. In all seriousness, I am happy with how it turned out and look forward to working on the song more. As an aside, sometimes it only takes a tiny little alteration or addition to breathe new life into something kinda old and stale. For me this song has a new energy in it, just by adding in that little chorus.

2. The second highlight from this week for me was our closing song. We ended the service with “Jesus, All For Jesus”, but what made it really cool for me was we ripped off the drum beat from Peter Gabriel’s “Biko” and used that for the whole song. It gave it a sweet vibe that I find is still lingering with me five days later. The great thing about the beat is that it forces the band to play sparsely… there is no room for busy strumming or filling, the drums carry the song. We don’t do a lot of songs that are carried by the drums, but this was one was and I loved it! If you don’t know what I’m talking about, than watch this clip…

Sean MacLennan killed it (Manu Katché who?). It was a great vibe, and a pretty cool Sunday.

Leave a Reply

