bored…

Jordan over at worship trench shared an article, “bored with contemporary worship”, from the Musicademy.

As I read it I found a part of myself resonating with what they were saying. I don’t know what it is, maybe it’s just the natural bi-product of leading a congregation every week mixed with my own “holy discontent” for more but knowing that real change and growth is a long term project not a short term fix.

Or maybe the current methodology of modern worship really is an empty shell left over from a profound movement of the Holy Spirit that has long past.

Or maybe we are more confused about the line between “worship” and “entertainment” than we realize (in practice, not in philosophy… I think we all know how to speak the difference) and all of this “boredom” is just a result of our consumeristic tendencies.

Or maybe there is no issue and this whole inner dialogue just proves the “power of suggestion” and that I’m far more easily influenced than I would like to admit. Maybe I have to much time on my hands if I can sit around and ponder this sort of minutae.

Or maybe the Spirit of God is itching to do something true and deep and real in the Church and he’s just waiting to see if we’ll get on board.

Whatever the case, it does seem that there is something just slightly off, and I’m still not quite sure what to do about it. Check out the article and let me know what you think (all 3 of you who still read this blog).

Leave a Reply

