a brief conversation between kate and josh…

Over the last week and a bit there has been some discussion going on in the comments of my last post (which is a special treat for me as the “proprietor” of this blog) and I thought I would post said discussion for those who don’t read comments. By the way, I don’t blame you for not reading the comments. I think we’ve all been conditioned by the parade of idiocy on sites like youtube to avoid comment sections… but these comments were good and worth reading. So… without further ado I give you “a brief conversation between Kate and Josh”

Says Kate:

“/And sometimes the most loving gift that we can give is art created with room for the audience to find their stories in.//

you are awesome, shawn.

this is a little off point, but i definitely think that as far as music goes the piece isn’t complete until the audience reacts to it. therefore i agree with you that it is a collaboration. (but because i am not as nice as you -and i think i’ve said to you before – if i were an artist i might find it a shame that i can’t choose who listens or *how* the audience interprets music.)

and i’ll have to think harder about other types of art to see if this holds.

almost another subject: do you think being an audience memeber/listener/art appreciator is a creative act? does finding your story in art make you a creative person? what’s your take? (if the theory is that the enjoy-er of the art is part of the collaboration, then i suppose yes, right? but as a person who is only an enthusiast and doesn’t create on her own, i can tell you that i wouldn’t call myself particularly creative. heh.)”

Says Josh:

“I think creativity goes far far beyond carrying an ability to express yourself via art. Typically, art and creativity are perceived as individual, but there are a lot of artists who aren’t creative (cough cough nickelback cough cough). There are many more people who are creative without necessarily being artistic.

So, Kate, to weigh in on your question, I’d say that it takes a decidedly creative mind to be able to identify with the art one encounters. Superimposing your own story over that depicted in the painting or novel or song takes a creative mind – in my opinion.”

Says Kate:

So! Dan Wilson (formerly of Semisonic) writes a blog and posts the entires to my local paper and kinda-sorta wrote something relevant about this recently. Here’s a link: http://danwilsonblog.blogspot.com/2009/08/its-hustle-and-game-and-gift.html

Kate and Josh: Thanks for the discussion and for offering your thoughts on the topic… also, thanks for the Dan Wilson post… it’s great!

If you are reading this as a note on facebook, may I recommend you visit shawnbaran.wordpress.com for the full service version? It’s prettier…

One Comment Add yours

  1. yes, Kate's post WAS great. I've never heard of Mr. Dan Wilson before, but he's got some cool things to say.As for my comment in your post, I have to confess that I broke my own rule. I always click the 'preview' button before I click the 'post' button. That way I catch any weirdly worded phrases… like 'art and creativity are percieved as individual…' – what the hell does THAT mean?I meant to write ' art and creativity are perceived as interchangeable' – as in 'people think they mean the same thing.Sorry for my lumbering prose, shawn.

Leave a Reply

