Our Song

Our Song chord chart

This is a song I wrote about a year ago.   It was (and still is) a prayer for my church (Oak Park) and The Church.

Christianity is a funny beast.   Despite being historically built on the life, death and belief in the resurrection of Jesus Christ, it bears the mark of so much flawed humanity.

In today’s North American culture, a faith in the redemptive nature of a real and loving God is synonymous with a host of polarizing politics and opinions.  As has been said, the Church is more known for what it is against (and we can’t even agree on that) than what it is for.

This is, of course, not every church or every Christian.   It is however an example of the few ruining it for the many, and it is a reality that we, as Christians seeking to be vessels of restoration to a broken world, need to recognize. But I digress…

We are a flawed faith, if only because we are a flawed people.  Yet, that doesn’t prevent God from breaking through and changing us, even using us to make this world what is should be.  And, to me, that is beautiful and worthy of song.  Which brings me back to the song.

It is probably my favourite song I’ve written in the last year.  There’s just something so simple and genuine about it, you could almost say “pure”… in fact, I will.

Also, this video is adorably self-aware, which makes me like that I did it even more.  And yes, it is a live take, flubs and all… what a strange word, “flub”.  Flub.  Flub.  Flub.

EDIT: As requested by Randy from Lambrick (thanks by the way!) I’ve added the campfire chart PDF  for your downloading and using.  All I ask is that if your church likes it, let me know… and if they don’t, let us never speak of it again 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Dana says:

    love you guys….loved this song

    1. shawnbaran says:

      Thanks, Dana… love you too!

  2. Randy Hein says:

    Dude, this is a very beautiful song.

    I would love our community in Victoria to be able to sing it. Any chance I could find lyrics/charts for it anywhere?

    1. shawnbaran says:

      Hey, thanks, Randy! That seriously means a ton. I’ve added a PDF of the chords/lyrics to the bottom of the blog post… feel free to download. Enjoy!

      1. Randy Hein says:

        Got it.

        Thanks, Shawn.

        In case you are interested, you can find out a bit about our community at theplace.ca

        Randy

Leave a Reply

